Board of Directors

President

Maggie Young

Maggie has been working in the Behavioral Health field at Liberation Programs since June 20, 1994. Over the past 20 years she was responsible for oversight of Residential Services which provides inpatient treatment to 65 men and 10 women with children recovering from substance abuse. Currently Maggie is the Director of Youth and Family Resources in Greenwich, A Program for Youth and Families. The Youth and Family program has offices at GHS as well as at the Greenwich YMCA. Maggie has a Bachelors of Science in Human Service and she is a Certified Addictions Counselor (CAC), Certified Clinical Supervisor (CCS), Certified Co-Occurring Disorders Professional (CCDP) and a Medicated Addiction Treatment Specialist (MATS).
Vice President

Cheryl Malloy

Cheryl A. Malloy served with the Connecticut State Police for over 20 years, retiring in 2009, at the rank of Lieutenant Colonel.

Cheryl serves as the Secretary for Connecticut Alliance for Recovery Housing (CTARH), a group that is passionate and committed to ensuring safe sober housing in Connecticut.

Cheryl currently works independently or in group settings with those who share, and are looking for assistance in living a healthier lifestyle, by incorporating a holistic approach, which in part includes delving into nutrition, exercise, spiritual practice, relationships, and career balance.

Cheryl is a graduate of Western New England College in Springfield, Massachusetts, where she earned a Bachelor of Science Degree in Law Enforcement. Cheryl became certified as a Recovery Coach in 2014, and holds several additional certifications as they relate to health and wellness.

Cheryl resides with her family in western Connecticut.

Treasurer

Marc Paradis, CPA

Marc Paradis is the Finance and Accounting Manager at Hopkins School in New Haven, Connecticut. Marc previously worked for 11 years at a national public accounting firm where he was a member of the firm’s Not-for-profit and Education Industry Practice. Marc is a Certified Public Accountant and received his Master’s and Bachelor’s degrees in Accounting from the University of Connecticut. Marc lives with his wife Nicole and their two children in North Branford, Connecticut.
Secretary

Anne Thompson Heller

Anne Thompson Heller is a person in long-term recovery since the age of 19. She attended the StepUP Program at Augsburg University in Minneapolis, MN where she received her Bachelor of Arts in Sociology and Metro Urban Studies. In 2011, Anne earned a Masters in Educational Leadership; Higher Education and Student Affairs from the University of Connecticut (UConn). In 2013, she received her second Masters from UConn in Marriage and family Therapy; Human Development and Family Studies. Anne has remained at UConn and is currently working toward her Doctorate in Human Development and Family Studies and working in Counseling and Mental Health Services as a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist.

Anne has worked to support youth recovery for a number of years. In 2013, Anne started the UConn Recovery Community (URC), a collegiate recovery program, at the University of Connecticut. Past advocacy efforts included serving as the Vice President of the Board of Directors for Connecticut Turning to Youth and Families (CTYF) as well as a Member of the Board of Directors for the Association of Recovery Schools (ARS) and as the Chair to the ARS advocacy committee. She is a Founding Member of Young People in Recovery (YPR) where she served as a member of the steering and advisory committee for the Young People in Recovery (YPR) Movement. Currently, Anne serves as the Secretary of the Board of Directors for Connecticut Community for Addiction Recovery (CCAR). She also serves as the Northeast Regional Representative for the Association of Recovery in Higher Education (ARHE) and was elected to serve on the Executive Board of the ARHE as Secretary beginning in July 2018.

Kevin Thompson

Kevin S. Thompson is an Assistant Professor In Residence in the University of Connecticut School of Business Department of Management where he teaches human capital courses in the Executive MBA and Human Resources Management graduate programs and the strategy capstone course for undergraduate business students. Kevin advises honors students on experiential honors projects and is a service learning fellow leading experiential, service learning projects for the School of Business.

Kevin is a member of the Academy of Human Resource Development where he has presented on developing millennial employees and contributes to the adult learning scholar practitioner and learning and development special interest groups. His research includes learning and development supports for the millennial generation, leading millennials and qualitative inquiry. He is a graduate of the University of Connecticut and has worked as a business leader in entrepreneurial settings, learning leader in Fortune 100 companies, and leadership and learning consultant for non-profit organizations.

John Hamilton, LMFT, LADC

John Hamilton is the President and CEO of Liberation Programs. He served as the agency’s Vice President of Clinical Services and Senior Vice President from 1996-2006. He is nationally recognized as an expert in the field of addiction treatment and prevention, and brings three decades of experience to his role as President and Chief Executive Officer. John chairs the advisory board for the Connecticut Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services (DMHAS) and serves on the Governors Alcohol and Drug Policy Council.

Asher Delerme

Though born and raised in “El Barrio” section of East Harlem, New York City, Asher Delerme has long been a pioneering force in Connecticut’s social services, behavioral health and supportive housing programs. As Executive Director of C.A.S.A. Inc., a non-profit behavioral health agency based in New Haven and Bridgeport CT, Delerme has been continuously involved in advocating for culturally-based clinical and institutional practices on state and national levels. Having overseen human services programs for the past 25 years, his experience ranges from behavioral health treatment to community-based programs and higher education.

Delerme holds Bachelor’s degree from Wesleyan University, has attended the University of Ghana in West Africa and obtained his Master’s in Counseling Psychology from Southern Connecticut State University. Delerme is a licensed Drug and Alcohol Counselor and Certified Clinical Supervisor.

For the past decade, as clinician and educator, Delerme has passionately explored the connection between learning, human development and the arts. He is a principle member of MPACT – Multicultural Perspectives in Assessment, Consultation and Training, providing consultation and training, both regionally and nationally. In addition to his social services work, Delerme is an accomplished musician with extensive knowledge of the ethnomusicology of African, Caribbean, and Jazz music genres. Delerme’s cumulative experience in psychosocial development and the ethnomusicology of African, Caribbean, and Jazz genres affords him a unique training perspective in music education, multicultural issues, behavioral health and community development

Joel Johnson

Joel has been in the financial services industry for over 26 years. As a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, Joel is the Managing Partner at his firm, Johnson Brunetti. Joel specializes in working with retirees and pre-retirees in developing investment, income and estate plans for all sizes of estates. He has helped hundreds of clients reduce unnecessary income taxes, social security taxes and estate taxes.

Joel is the host of “Better Money” on WFSB Channel 3 Eyewitness News Sunday morning between 7 AM – 9AM.

He has a weekly financial radio show, “Money Wisdom” that can be heard on several stations in New England, including WTIC Newstalk 1080.

He is the author of five books, including the Amazon best-seller, “The Money Map”.

Joel has been a Connecticut resident for over 25 years. Joel and his wife Wendy have been married for 26 years and they have four sons.

William Savinelli, M.S., LPC, LADC

William (Bill) is the Director of PHP/IOP at Stonington Institute . He has held that position since December 2011. Bill holds a Master of Science degree from S.C.S.U. and holds 2 clinical Licenses LPC, LADC. He has extensive experience working with various populations which include Addictions, Mental Health Co-Occurring and Child and Adolescence.

Bill had served in the Connecticut Army National Guard before beginning his career in Social Services in 1993. From 1997-2011 Bill had worked for Rushford Center in various direct care and management positions. Bill most recently held the position of Clinical Director of Addictions Services. Since 2007 services under his leadership included Child and Adolescence Residential and Outpatient, Adult Intensive Residential, Partial Hospital, Dual Diagnosis Partial Hospital, Intensive outpatient and Outpatient services. Bill had taken an active role throughout the Hartford Health Care system participating in several strategic steering committees. Bill completed DMHAS’s Leadership Institute and received the Emergent Leader Award in 2007. Bill has extensive experience working with DPH, DMHAS and The Joint Commission.

Bill has also served a member of St. Vincent DePaul’s Board. In 2009 he was elected as the Vice Chairman. Bill continues his service to St. Vincent DePaul’s.

Staff Directory

Virginia Adams
Center Manager, Hartford Recovery Community Center
Virginia@ccar.us

TJ Aitken
Young Adult and Family Services Manager
TJ@ccar.us

Amy Albanese
Events Coordinator
Amy@ccar.us

Rebecca Allen
Director of Recovery Support Services
Rebecca@ccar.us

Michael Askew
Director of Recovery Advocacy
Michael@ccar.us

Dimitri Bakes
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
Dimitrios@ccar.us

Cathy Bergren
Center Manager, Manchester Recovery Community Center
Cathy@ccar.us

Herbert Boyd
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
HBoyd@ccar.us

Carmen Bravo
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
Carmen@ccar.us

Guy Brenan
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
Guy@ccar.us

Bobby Brown
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
Bobby@ccar.us

Travis Caouette
Virtual Production Team Manager
tcaouette@ccar.us

Kevin Carmingnani
Project Coordinator, ORCA
kcarmignani@ccar.us

Leyda Cartgena
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
Leyda@ccar.us

Jennifer Chadukiewicz
Emergency Department Recovery Coach Manager
Jennifer@ccar.us

Stacy Charpentier
Director of CCAR Training
Stacy@ccar.us

Michelle Christopher
Finance Manager
Michelle@ccar.us

Amanda Flick
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
Aflick@ccar.us

Lila Frankovitch
Training Coordinator
Lila@ccar.us

Domenick Galarneau
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
Domenick@ccar.us

Mary Gotlibowski
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
Mary@ccar.us

Todd Hallock
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
Todd@ccar.us

Anita Howard
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
Anita@ccar.us

Yoly Lebron
Director of Administration / Human Resources
Yoly@ccar.us

Zachary Lewin
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
Zachary@ccar.us

Todd Manna
Administrative Assistant
TManna@ccar.us

Regina McGarrah
Program Coordinator, Emergency Department Recovery Coach Program
Regina@ccar.us

Melissa McGee
Volunteer Manager, Windham Recovery Community Center
Melissa@ccar.us

Brian McManus
DOC Recovery Coach Manager
Brian@ccar.us

Jackie Michaud
Administrative Assistant
Jackie@ccar.us

Rita Natale
Center Manager, New Haven Recovery Community Center
Rita@ccar.us

Alvin Perez
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
APerez@ccar.us

Jennifer Reed
Recovery Coach, Connecticut Department of Corrections
Jreed@ccar.us

Carlos Reinoso
Center Manager, Bridgeport Recovery Community Center
Carlos@ccar.us

Barry Richardson
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
Barry@ccar.us

Mindy Richardson
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
Mindy@ccar.us

Geraldo Rivera
Volunteer Manager, Hartford Recovery Community Center
Geraldo@ccar.us

Brian Robbins
Senior Program Manager, Recovery Community Centers
Brobbins@ccar.us

Sheys Rojas Bermudez
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
sbermudez@ccar.us

William Rosa
Volunteer Manager, New Haven Recovery Community Center
William@ccar.us

Thomas Russo
Communications Manager
Tom@ccar.us

David Santiago
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
David@ccar.us

John Schwartz
Center Manager, Windham Recovery Community Center
John@ccar.us

Michael Serrano
Volunteer Manager, Manchester Recovery Community Center
Mserrano@ccar.us

Kevin Shuler
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
Kshuler@ccar.us

Katie Siekiera
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
Katie@ccar.us

Jason Sirois
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
Jason@ccar.us

Don Smith
Technology Specialist
Don@ccar.us

Tammy Steele
Administrative Manager
Tamara@ccar.us

Liz Torres
Volunteer Manager, Bridgeport Recovery Community Center
Liz@ccar.us

Debra Trueax
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
Debra@ccar.us

Phil Valentine
Executive Director
Phillip@ccar.us

Diana Valle
Emergency Department Recovery Coach
DValle@ccar.us

Maysha Zakrevskyy
Learning Experience Team Manager
mzakrevskyy@ccar.us